Holiday Photo Journal Part One – Aotearoa/New Zealand

There will probably be several posts inspired by the holiday I have recently returned from. I thought I’d start with a holiday photo journal for each of the two legs of the trip. Below, you’ll find brief descriptions of my activities each day in Aotearoa/New Zealand and some of the best photos in my collection of holiday snaps. Enjoy!

Day 1 – Tāmaki Makaurau/Auckland to Rotorua

After a very late night due to a last minute change to my flights, I collected my campervan and purchased groceries for the week, then headed down towards Rotorua. Near Rotorua, I did the 10km Te Waihou walkway to the Blue Spring/Te Puna and back, then headed to my campsite for the night at Lake Okareka.

Day 2 – Tarawera Trail

I hiked the Tarawera Trail, a 16km trail along the shores of Lake Tarawera through a variety of vegetation, terminating at a hot water beach. I walked the last bit of the track in the water, gradually approaching the amazingly hot water near the spring, before getting the water taxi back to where I’d left my car. I then returned to Lake Okareka for a second night at that campsite.

Day 3 – Shorter walks en route from Rotorua to Matata

I started the day with a 5km return trip up Maunga Kakamarea/Rainbow Mountain which has multicoloured mud/soil, steam vents and gorgeous crater lakes from thermal activity.

I then headed up to do a short 2.5km loop walk to see Okere, Tutea and Salmon Pond Falls. The amount of water flowing through that river system is enormous – a sight to behold!

After this, I headed for my campsite at Matata Beach. After a cuppa, I walked along the beach, enjoying the feeling of the cool water on my legs.

Day 4 – Shorter walks en route from Matata to Athentree

I started the day with a short 2km loop hike to see the spectacular, multi-part Kaiate Falls.

I then headed into Tauranga to do the 3km climb up Mount Manganui. I came down via the beach and again enjoyed the cool water on my legs.

I treated myself to lunch out at Eddie’s, a Tauranga cafe, then headed to Aongatete Forest for another short loop hike through lush greenery, serenaded by tuis.

I finished the day at camp at Athentree Hot Springs where I enjoyed a soak in the hot pool.

Day 5 – Orakawa Coastal Walk

I did the 13.5km hike from Waihi Beach to Homunga Bay via Orakawa Bay on a varied and wonderfully muddy track. I encountered two unexpected waterfalls on this hike and had my lunch on a deserted Homunga Bay Beach. I then headed for my campsite in the Kauaeranga Valley and had a bit of an explore of the Kauaeranga River and sussed out where my hike the next day would start from.

Day 6 – The Pinnacles Walk

I started early and made good progress upwards via a series of bridges and interesting track towards my target – the Pinnacles. The last bit of the track relied on some rock scrambling assisted by metal hand and foot holds embedded in the rock. I enjoyed an early lunch at the summit, before descending back to my campervan and heading to my campsite, a slightly different location in the Kauaeranga Valley from the previous night. I soothed my tired feet with a dip in the Waiora Stream and did some yoga in the sun to stretch out after a quite strenuous 14km.

Day 7 – Shorter walks en route from the Kauaeranga Valley back to Tāmaki Makaurau/Auckland

I started the day with the 6km Cookson Kauri Walk. The Cookson Kauri is a massive kauri tree that managed to escape logging and was awesome to see. I then began the drive out of the Kauaeranga Valley, stopping to do a quick 2km trip up to a lookout and back, before driving on towards Tāmaki Makaurau/Auckland. I arrived at my Airbnb mid-afternoon, met my lovely host and her cat, freshened up with a shower and enjoyed a cuppa and piece of cake with my host in the sunshine. I then returned my campervan and walked back to my accommodation to have a restful evening ahead of an early flight to Tonga the next morning.


The photo journal from the Tongan leg of my trip is coming soon. Also keep an eye out for some more reflective posts about the trip.

Love, hope and peace from Emma.

6 thoughts on “Holiday Photo Journal Part One – Aotearoa/New Zealand

Leave a comment